IC Council News

December 2016

IC Council 2016 Round-up

As 2016 draws to an end, the IC can look back on another successful year full of competitive fixtures and events. Consistently played in the spirit of fairplay and sportsmanship, such celebrations of tennis have brought together many new and existing nations throughout the world. 

With the IC’s of the World now comprising of an impressive 40 nations, the 2017 calendar is already bursting with many fixtures and events. But for now, we look back at the key highlights of 2016 and the IC Council wishes everyone a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. 

Compass increases support for the IC Junior Challenge and is given the naming rights to the whole event

The Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship Award 2016 – Rod Laver
Awarded at the IC of Australia Annual Lunch by Paul McNamee, President of the IC of Australia

Wallenberg Trophy – Stockholm
IC’s: France, Germany, GB, Sweden
Winners: IC of France

44th Potter Cup – Real Club de Polo, Barcelona, Spain 
IC’s: Belgium, France, Ireland, Italy, Great Britain, Spain, USA 
Winners: IC of USA

First Ladies Potter Cup invitational exhibition event between the IC of Spain and IC of Italy 

CQS 6 Nations Cup – Prague, Czech Republic   (note title as 6 nations took part)
IC’s: Australia, Bahamas, Czech Republic, Hungary, Uruguay, USA
Winners: IC of Australia

IC Council AGM – Roehampton, UK
Attended by 54 people, representing 37 countries 
Key points: website upgrades, 2017 calendar, IC Philanthropy, Business plan, re-elected officers, Council finances, full fixture list for next year

IC of New Zealand 60th Anniversary Celebrations – Auckland
Honorary guests: Peter McQuibban (Chairman of the IC Council Executive Committee), Celia Patrick (President of Tennis New Zealand and ITF Board Member) 
Awards: Lifetime Membership of the club to Jeff Robson 

IC Philanthropy new website 
As part of the IC’s overall website and digital improvements, the IC of Philanthropy webpage was the first to be updated

Compass IC Junior Challenge Finals – Monte Carlo, Monaco 
IC’s: Argentina, Monaco/ France, Japan, Spain, South Africa, USA 
Winners: IC of Spain
Sportsmanship awards: Yuki Ando (IC of Japan) and Alexandre Figl (IC of Monaco/ France) 

The IV Tennis Golf Challenge – Cala Mesquida, Majorca 
IC’s: Denmark, GB, Spain
Winners: IC of Spain

Columbus Trophy – Delhi Gymkhana Club, India
IC’s: Argentina, Belgium, France, GB, India (2 teams), Japan
Winners: IC of France

6 Nations Trophy – Punte del Este, Uruguay
IC’s: USA, Mexico, Argentina, Chile, Canada and Uruguay 

IC Council website upgrade
The first phase of the IT upgrade sees the IC Council website being redesigned and upgraded, and due to go live in 2017 
Previous Article IC of New Zealand - 60th Anniversary Celebrations
Next Article Sir Andy Murray