IC Council News

September 2022
2022 Sportsmanship Award - Frank Sedgman

2022 Sportsmanship Award - Frank Sedgman

The legendary Frank Sedgman, or ‘Sedge’ as he’s widely known, was presented with the 2022 Jean Jean Borotra CQS Sportsmanship award at a gala luncheon held at the Kooyong Lawn Tennis Club on the middle Sunday of Wimbledon, July 3.

Honoring Frank and celebrating the 70th anniversary celebration of his Wimbledon triple crown win in 1952, the event was brilliantly hosted by Kooyong, along with the IC and the Australian Davis Cup foundation.

Frank’s 1952 sweep of singles, doubles and mixed remains an extraordinary feat. And he’d done the same at the US Championships the previous year, such was his dominance.

Turning 95 this year, Frank, with his lovely wife Jean, had originally planned to travel to Wimbledon for the anniversary, but when this was not possible, the Kooyong event evolved.

The Sedgman family were seated at the ‘Royal Box’ table, and the lunch had a very festive Wimbledon theme, including an Aussie take on strawberries and cream!

Over 200 people attended, enjoying former Davis Cup player Sam Groth as MC, with video tributes and messages from many in the tennis world: Roger Federer, Rod Laver, Ken Rosewall, Todd Martin, Wimbledon Chairman Ian Hewitt (giving the luncheon a ‘behind the scenes’ video  tour of the All England Club), Paul McNamee with IC Chair Peter McQuibban and Sir Michael Hintze saluting Frank from Wimbledon, and IC Australia President Kerryn Pratt announcing the Award. Neale Fraser also spoke on the day, and musical opera star David Hobson was a hit performing some of Frank’s favourite songs.

IC Australia’s Cedric Mason and Chris Kachel presented Frank with the Borotra trophy, a replica, as Frank’s was awaiting him at Wimbledon! The Sedge edition will arrive in Melbourne shortly.

Frank was truly delighted to receive the IC’s ultimate accolade which is richly deserved on so many counts - his brilliant playing record, his sportsmanship, his pioneering role in pro tennis and for the contributions he’s made to the IC in Australia and worldwide over many decades. He was part of the founding of the IC in Australia, served as President, remains Patron, and is currently the President of the IC Council.

Sedge was rated world number 1 as both an amateur and a professional player.

As an amateur he won 5 majors in singles, 8 in mixed and 9 in doubles, a total of 22 grand slam titles before the age of 25 when he turned pro. Alongside fellow Aussie Ken McGregor, he achieved the Grand Slam in men’s doubles in 1951 and in the 50’s led Australia to Davis Cup victory on three occasions.

Sedge is a great champion on court and off, revered in Australia and around the globe, truly living the IC motto of ‘hands across the net, friendships across the ocean’ throughout his illustrious tennis life.

Previous Article South Africa Win Qualfying Leg of Rod Laver Junior Challenge
Next Article USIC 90th Anniversary Celebrates Return of IC Week

First Wimbledon Title for the IC Junior Challenge First Wimbledon Title for the IC Junior Challenge

First Wimbledon Title for the IC Junior Challenge

It is very pleasing to note that several competitors at Wimbledon Championships’  junior events during the last two years have played in previous Compass IC Junior Challenges.
Abe Segal Abe Segal

Abe Segal

Members will be saddened to learn of the death of the legendary S African, Abe Segal, aged 85.
Rod Laver AC wins Sportsmanship Award Rod Laver AC wins Sportsmanship Award

Rod Laver AC wins Sportsmanship Award

"It's a great honour to receive this award from the International Club" said Rod, "just listening to the introductions of those people here today, it is like a homecoming for me. I know so many of you."
The Compass Group - One of our key sponsors The Compass Group - One of our key sponsors

The Compass Group - One of our key sponsors

Started in 1941 when they established factory canteens to feed British workers supporting the war effort, The Compass Group has grown today into a £18bn multi-national group with 516,000 employees.